A Single Thought

D-Photography

I’ve had some people write with concerns of their own journey as a parent, child, and even sibling.  Doubts of whether or not they are doing as much as they can.  Loving as much as they can.  Giving as much as they can.  There have been comparisons to their personal journeys with Mama’s, indicating a sense of inadequacy.  I fall short in  having an answer to those concerns other than this one thought that I actively try to live my life remembering daily.

I truly believe we are only capable of giving what we have within us to give at any given moment in time.  There will be moments when we are capable of more and most definitely moments when we can only give so much.  Knowing this of ourselves, it seems only right to extend the same leniency to those we love.

When I write memories of Mama, I choose to reflect on her during her most giving, tolerant, and loving moments in life.  That is not to say that she did not have down moments or loss of hope at times.  She most definitely had her “off days” and doubts of her own journey through life.

We all do.

But, I hope when it comes time to reflect on my own path and for others to reflect on it as well, that I am uplifted and remembered for what I’ve done right and a grace provided to allow my shortcomings to rest quietly.

I write this post simply as reassurance to those that have uncertainties to recognize that we all have those same unsettling moments in life.  My only words of wisdom, because I am the same as you, is to have faith that you are doing the best you can and giving all that you are capable of in this exact given moment….today.

 

Leave a Reply

