Patrick’s Call

D-Photography

There are times during this journey where you start to feel the shift of what used to be normalcy slide into something new and unexpected.  Last night was one of those nights.  During the latest hours of the evening, I received a call from my brother.  While watching the news, he had just heard about the 5.3 earthquake shakin’ up my side of the world.  It’s the simple little acts like this that are making a shift in our family.  That call would have typically come from Mama, but in her absence, my brother stepped in and did what we all hope to provide for each other now that she is gone, someone to say, “I’m here for you.  I may be miles away, over mountains, and across oceans, but I’m right there with you.”  We all need this now more than ever.  It’s one of those little things that Mom did that once subtracted from the equation, would off balance our lives tremendously if not replaced by some other equally caring act.  She was the glue that held us together.  She was the peacemaker and the news broadcaster. She was all of our “go to person.”  So in her absence, when that phone call came through with my sweet, loving brother on the other end, it left my heart whole and my soul comforted.  He filled in a piece of the hole left by Mom’s absence with a new normal….and I love him so very much for that.

Leave a Reply

